America’s taxpayers have specific rights when they interact with the Internal Revenue Service.  These ten rights are known collectively as the “Taxpayer Bill of Rights”. These rights lay out what you as a taxpayer can expect in the event you need to work with the IRS on a personal tax matter.  This includes when you are filing your return, paying your taxes, responding to a letter you received from the IRS, going through an audit or appealing an audit decision.

The 10 Rights Are:

  • The Right to Be Informed
  • The Right to Quality Service
  • The Right to Pay No More Tax than the Correct Amount
  • The Right to Challenge the IRS’s Position and Be Heard
  • The Right to Appeal an IRS Decision
  • The Right to Finality
  • The Right to Privacy
  • The Right to Confidentiality
  • The Right to Representation
  • The Right to a Fair and Just Tax System

If you have questions about this list or have an issue with the IRS that you need assistance with, please call our office.